Skip to content

Ten candidates for school district byelections

Ten people are vying for two vacant School District 57 Board of Education seats.

A byelection will be held June 17 to fill the vacancies left by Betty Bekkering and Gillian Burnett who both resigned in April. Both resigned shortly after the board removed Superintendent Cindy Heitman from her position after serving just over two years at the helm of School District 57. Heitman was named to the acting role in early 2021 when the-superintendent Anita Richardson went on leave and was named superintendent in January 2022, when Richardson officially left the employ of the district. Richardson, who was in the position for one year, is now suing the district.

Putting their names forward for the byelection are: Lucy Duncan, Don Fitzpatrick, Sarah Holland, David Low, Milton Mahoney, Dusty Martin, Shar McCrory, Heather McKenzie, Bill Price, and Josh Silva.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *