Skip to content

RCMP E Division long service awards and commanding officer’s commendations handed out

On Thursday regular members, civilian members and public service employees of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) E Division were recognized for their years of service.

The recipients of the Long Service Award are police officers who have performed their duties in an exemplary manner through their carrier. Their actions bring credit to themselves and are in keeping with the highest traditions of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

The award is presented in recognition of all those occasions where the recipient had to display courage, tenacity, patience and good judgement, and honour all those actions that make up a long career of going “above and beyond”.

In addition to the Long Service Awards, the following employees were presented with distinctive honours:

District Officer Certificate:
Sgt. Ryan Pullin for Acting as OIC Prince Rupert Detachment

Long Service Awards 20 Year:

• Sgt. Ryan Arnold – NCO i/c North District ERT
• Bryan Bouwman (Civilian) – North District OCC Unit
• Cst. Tim Cada – Prince Rupert Detachment
• S/Sgt. Todd Cruch – Prince George Detachment
• Cpl. Craig Douglass – Prince George Detachment
• S/Sgt. Jim Fenske – North District Fraser Fort George Advisory NCO
• Loreen Gillis (Civilian) – North District OCC Unit
• Cpl. Colin Warwick – Prince George Detachment – PDS Unit

30 Year:

• Blane Angielski (Civilian) – North District OCC Unit Commander
• Supt. Brian Edmonds – North District Assistant Officer
• S/Sgt (retired) Rod Holland – prior to retirement was Kitimat Stikine Advisory NCO.
• S/Sgt. Shaunna Lewis – NCO i/c Burns Lake Detachment

CO Certificate of Appreciation and St John Life Saving Award:

• Const. Thomas Peters – Tumbler Ridge Detachment. Award for saving a kayaker in dangerous water conditions near Cowichan Bay
Const. Peters is also the recipient of the St John Lifesaving award for saving the life of an individual in Duncan BC (2019) as well as a St. John National Coin for services rendered during the COVID 19 pandemic.
Commanding Officer Commendation & Insignia for Outstanding Service
• Const. Noeimi Duru – Alexis Creek Detachment – Award for her quick actions in dealing with a severed carotid artery on an individual.
• Cpl. Colin Warwick – PG PDS Unit – Award for the apprehension of an armed and dangerous murder suspect.
• Const. Daniel Farwell – PG City General Duty ‘A’ Watch – Award for the apprehension of an armed and dangerous murder suspect.
• Const. Lorne Smith – North District Provincial Support Team – Award for negotiating a pilot experiencing a mental health crisis to land the plane safely near Quesnel, B.C.

Commissioner’s Commendation for outstanding Volunteer Activities

Plaque, Certificate and Insignia.

• Simon Gould – Awarded for his countless volunteer hours to further police dog handlers’ skills and in the creation and instruction of the Quarry development workshops.

“I am pleased to see these awards presented today to men and women whose merit and courage in their service to the Citizens of Canada deserves recognition,” said Chief Superintendent Warren Brown, District Commander of E Division North District RCMP. “There is not a day that goes by that I am not impressed by the actions of all of the employees throughout North District.”

What do you think about this story?

Specify a Disqus shortname at Social Comments options page in admin panel