Skip to content

Kevin Falcon wins BC Liberals leadership race

Kevin Falcon

BC Liberals have chosen Kevin Falcon as their new leader.

The former cabinet minister scored a fifth-ballot victory with 52 per cent of the vote Saturday.

Legislature member Ellis Ross finished second with almost 34 per cent of the vote and Michael Lee was third, with about 14 per cent. Val Litwin, Gavin Dew, Renee Merrifield and Stan Sipos were dropped from the field after four ballots.

“Today marks the start of a new chapter for our party,” said Falcon, in a statement released after the vote. “As I committed to at the beginning of my campaign, we need to work on a root-to-branch rebuild of the BC Liberals – one that embraces diversity, and offers a real vision on issues like housing affordability, affordable childcare, and the environment. I’m proud to have received a strong mandate to move the Party in this direction.”

The new BC Liberal Leader called on supporters of other leadership candidates to help with rebuilding efforts.

“Regardless of who you supported in this leadership race, I want you to know that you are welcome in the BC Liberal Party,” continued Falcon. “If you believe that a private sector-driven economy is the best way to fund world-class public services, we want you in our Party. And if you believe that we need both compassion and competence to address the greatest challenges of our time, we want you in our Party.”

Falcon pledged to seek a seat in the legislature as soon as possible.

“Starting tomorrow, I will begin discussions with members of the BC Liberal Caucus to identify a seat to run in,” concluded Falcon. “Once that seat becomes available, I will immediately ask John Horgan to call that by-election at the earliest possible time.”

Falcon previously served as deputy premier, minister of finance, minister of health, and minister of transportation.

What do you think about this story?

Specify a Disqus shortname at Social Comments options page in admin panel