Skip to content

Zimmer named to shadow cabinet

Bob Zimmer

Opposition leader Erin O’Toole today announced his shadow cabinet and Prince George-Peace River-Northern Rockies MP Bob Zimmer has been appointed shadow minister for Northern Affairs and Arctic Sovereignty; Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency.  

Cariboo-Prince George MP Todd Doherty, whom O’Toole named as special advisor for mental health and wellness in 2020, was not on the list released today. Doherty, in a Facebook post, offered “congratulations to my Conservative Party of Canada – Parti conservateur du Canada colleagues appointed to shadow cabinet.”

“I am honoured to have been appointed to once again serve in the shadow cabinet for the Official Opposition as shadow minister for Northern Affairs and Arctic Sovereignty; Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency,” said Zimmer. “I was born and raised in the North and I look forward to continuing to be a strong advocate for Canada’s northern communities, as well as defend our Arctic sovereignty in this role. I will continue to hold this Liberal government to account on the issues that affect those living in these regions.”

O’Toole did not name any of the MPs who have voiced opposition to COVID-19 vaccine policies to the shadow cabinet

Newly-elected MP and former Conservative leadership contender Leslyn Lewis, long-time MP Marilyn Gladu and Saskatchewan MP Rosemarie Falk have been left on the Conservative backbench without a prominent role in the next Parliament.

The shadow cabinet are:

  • Deputy Leader – Candice Bergen
  • Chair of Outreach – Tim Uppal
  • House Leader – Gerard Deltell
  • Deputy House Leader and Co-Chair of Question Period Planning – Michael Barrett
  • Quebec Lieutenant – Alain Rayes
  • Chief Opposition Whip – Blake Richards
  • Caucus Secretary to Conservative Party – Eric Duncan
  • Deputy Opposition Whip, Strategic Advisor, and Co-Chair of Question Period Planning – James Bezan

Conservative Shadow Cabinet:

  • Shadow Minister for Digital Government – Ben Lobb
  • Shadow Minister for Agriculture, Agri-Food and Food Security – John Barlow
  • Shadow Minister for Canadian Heritage – John Nater
  • Shadow Minister for Crown-Indigenous Relations – Gary Vidal
  • Shadow Minister for Finance and Middle Class Prosperity – Pierre Poilievre
  • Shadow Minister for Employment, Future Workforce Development and Disability Inclusion – Stephanie Kusie
  • Shadow Minister for Environment and Climate Change – Dan Albas
  • Shadow Minister for Families, Children and Social Development – Laila Goodridge
  • Shadow Minister for Federal Economic Development Agency for Eastern, Central and Southern Ontario – Phil Lawrence
  • Shadow Minister for Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard – Rick Perkins
  • Shadow Minister for Foreign Affairs – Michael Chong
  • Shadow Minister for Health – Luc Berthold
  • Shadow Minister for Housing and Diversity and Inclusion – Matt Jeneroux
  • Shadow Minister for Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship – Jasraj Singh Hallan
  • Shadow Minister for Federal Economic Development Agency for Northern Ontario – Eric Melillo
  • Shadow Minister for Innovation, Science and Industry – Ed Fast
  • Shadow Minister for International Development – Garnett Genuis
  • Shadow Minister for International Trade and Supply Chain Resilience – Randy Hoback
  • Shadow Minister for Small Business Recovery and Growth – Tracy Gray
  • Shadow Minister for Manufacturing and Export Promotion – Tony Baldinelli
  • Shadow Minister for Justice and Attorney General of Canada – Rob Moore
  • Shadow Minister for Mental Health, Addictions and Suicide Prevention – Hon. Mike Lake
  • Shadow Minister for Northern Affairs and Arctic Sovereignty; Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency – Bob Zimmer
  • Shadow Minister for Prairie Economic Development and Inter-provincial Trade – Warren Steinley
  • Shadow Minister for Pacific Economic Development – Brad Vis
  • Shadow Minister for Sport; Economic Development Agency of Canada for the Regions of Quebec – Richard Martel
  • Shadow Minister for National Defence – Kerry-Lynne Findlay
  • Shadow Minister for National Revenue – Jake Stewart
  • Shadow Minister for Natural Resources – Hon. Michelle Rempel Garner
  • Shadow Minister for Official Languages – Alain Rayes
  • Shadow Minister for Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency – Clifford Small
  • Shadow Minister for Public Safety – Raquel Dancho
  • Shadow Minister for Public Services and Procurement – Pierre Paul-Hus
  • Shadow Minister for Emergency Preparedness – Dane Lloyd
  • Shadow Minister for Rural Economic Development & Rural Broadband Strategy – Lianne Rood
  • Shadow Minister for Seniors – Shelby Kramp-Neuman
  • Shadow Minister for Tourism – Michelle Ferreri
  • Shadow Minister for Transport – Melissa Lantsman
  • Shadow Minister for Treasury Board – Kelly McCauley
  • Shadow Minister for Veterans Affairs and Associate Minister for National Defence – Frank Caputo
  • Shadow Minister for Women and Gender Equality and Youth – Karen Vecchio
  • Shadow Minister for Ethics and Accountable Government – John Brassard
  • Shadow Minister for Infrastructure and Communities – Andrew Scheer
  • Shadow Minister for Labour – Scott Aitchison
  • Shadow Minister for Indigenous Services – Jamie Schmale
  • Associate Shadow Minister for Women and Gender Equality and Youth – Dominique Vien

What do you think about this story?