Skip to content

Liberals to pick a new leader next February

Interim BC Liberal leader Shirley Bond

Shirley Bond will keep her interim job for another year.

The Prince George-Valemount MLA was given the job at the BC Liberals’ interim leader after the party’s election loss last year and today the party announced it will name a new leader in February next year.

The BC Liberal Leadership Election Organizing Committee (LEOC) has finalized the rules and procedures which provide for voting to take place from February 3-5, 2022 with the winner to be announced on February 5, 2022.

“We are excited to begin the race for the leadership of our party, a process that will help to shape the future of BC Politics” said Don Silversides, interim party president. “We have set the vote for February 2022 to attract the broadest possible range of candidates to the race, and give them the best possible opportunity to engage British Columbians in person, when hopefully the pandemic is more under control.”

The deadline to join the party or renew a membership in order to vote is December 29, 2021. The application deadline for candidates interested in running for leadership is November 30, 2021.

BC Liberal memberships are open to all British Columbians age 14 and older at a cost of $10 for four years ($5 for those 14-25 years of age).

The full rules and information regarding the 2022 leadership race can be found on the BC Liberal website:

To date, Skeena MLA Ellis Ross has announced he will be seeking the leadership and Prince George-Mackenzie MLA Mike Morris is reportedly mulling a possible run.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *