Skip to content

Stolz tagged by BC Liberals to help with leadership race

Cameron Stolz is hoping to bring a small business voice to city council. Bill Phillips photo
Cameron Stolz

Prince George’s Cameron Stolz has been tagged by the BC Liberal Party to help with the upcoming leadership race.

Stolz, former city councillor who also sought the federal Conservative nomination, is on the seven-member leadership election organizing committee. Other members include: Co-chair Roxanne Helme of Victoria; co-chair Colin Hansen of Vancouver; Derek Lew of Vancouver; Sarah Sidhu of Port Moody; Don Silversides of Prince Rupert; Jackie Tegart of Ashcroft.

Former leader Andrew Wilkinson stepped down after last fall’s election … sort of. He is still listed, officially, as party leader, even though Prince George-Valemount MLA Shirley Bond was named as interim leader.

“I am the leader of the Official Opposition,” Bond said Thursday. “My responsibility is manage the caucus and to work in the Legislature and to provide leadership in that format. Obviously the party working to create the leadership process that will lead to a new leader of the BC Liberal party.”

She said called the situation “constitutional technicality,” adding that Wilkinson has no responsibilities other than being an MLA.

“We certainly expect a letter of resignation in the next few weeks,” she said.

The election organizing committee has been tasked with determining the timeline for the election, establishing the rules that will guide the race, and implementing the process by which members will elect the leader.

“Hopefully a very diverse slate of candidates will seek the leadership of this party,” she said. “The election of a new leader is an integral part of the renewal and rebuilding process that the BC Liberal Party and its members are currently engaged in,” said Lindsay Cote, Interim Executive Director of the BC Liberal Party.

All members of the party’s executive and leadership have pledged to remain neutral throughout the leadership process to ensure fairness and accountability.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *