Skip to content

Horgan unveils new cabinet

Premier John Horgan

Premier John Horgan has announced a new, larger cabinet.

“The pandemic has turned the lives of British Columbians upside down,” Horgan said in a news release. “We have come a long way together, but we have much further to go. This skilled, diverse team is ready to continue our fight against COVID-19 and build an economic recovery that includes everyone.”

The new cabinet members are tasked with continuing government’s cross-ministry response to the pandemic, providing better health care for people and families, delivering affordability and security in B.C.’s communities, and investing in good jobs and livelihoods in a clean-energy future, according to the news release.

“I know this is a hard time for British Columbians. COVID-19 has brought challenges unlike any we’ve faced before,” Horgan said. “By putting people first, investing in hospitals and diagnostics, supporting front-line workers and by everyone doing their part to fight this virus, we will make it through, together.”

The new cabinet includes 20 ministers and four ministers of state. Gender representation remains balanced. The cabinet will be supported in its work by 13 parliamentary secretaries, with portfolios including rural development, anti-racism, and technology and innovation.

The cabinet and parliamentary secretaries are as follows:

Premier: John Horgan

Attorney General (and Minister Responsible For Housing): David Eby

* Parliamentary Secretary – Anti-Racism Initiatives: Rachna Singh

Advanced Education and Skills Training: Anne Kang

* Parliamentary Secretary – Skills Training: Andrew Mercier

Agriculture, Food and Fisheries: Lana Popham

* Parliamentary Secretary – Fisheries and Aquaculture: Fin Donnelly

Citizens’ Services: Lisa Beare

Children and Family Development: Mitzi Dean

* Minister of State for Child Care: Katrina Chen

Education: Jennifer Whiteside

Energy, Mines and Low Carbon Innovation (and Minister Responsible for the Consular Corps of British Columbia): Bruce Ralston

Environment and Climate Change Strategy (and Minister Responsible for Translink): George Heyman

* Parliamentary Secretary – Environment: Kelly Greene

Finance: Selina Robinson

* Parliamentary Secretary – Gender Equity: Grace Lore

Forests, Lands, Natural Resource Operations and Rural Development: Katrine Conroy

* Minister of State for Lands, Natural Resource Operations: Nathan Cullen

* Parliamentary Secretary – Rural Development: Roly Russell

Health (and Minister Responsible for Francophone Affairs): Adrian Dix

* Parliamentary Secretary – Seniors Services and Long Term Care: Mable Elmore

Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation: Murray Rankin

Jobs, Economic Recovery and Innovation: Ravi Kahlon

* Minister of State for Trade: George Chow

* Parliamentary Secretary – Technology and Innovation: Brenda Bailey

Labour: Harry Bains

* Parliamentary Secretary – New Economy: Adam Walker

Mental Health and Addictions: Sheila Malcolmson

Municipal Affairs: Josie Osborne

Public Safety and Solicitor General: Mike Farnworth

* Parliamentary Secretary – Emergency Preparedness: Jennifer Rice

Social Development and Poverty Reduction: Nicholas Simons

* Parliamentary Secretary – Community Development and Non-Profits: Niki Sharma

* Parliamentary Secretary – Accessibility: Dan Coulter

Tourism, Arts, Culture and Sport: Melanie Mark

* Parliamentary Secretary – Arts and Film: Bob D’Eith

Transportation and Infrastructure: Rob Fleming

* Minister of State for Infrastructure: Bowinn Ma

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *