Skip to content

City names five community members to downtown committee

Daniel Roy is one of five community members appointed to the city’s committee examining social issues downtown.

The City of Prince George has selected the people and organizations that will make up the newly created Select Committee on a Clean, Safe, and Inclusive Downtown. The committee was established by Council at its December 16 meeting to advise council and city staff on priorities and strategies related to key issues and work required for addressing social issues throughout Prince George with a focus on the downtown core.

Mayor Lyn Hall will Chair the Committee, which will include representatives from the Prince George Chamber of Commerce, Downtown Prince George, Gateway Business Improvement Association, Prince George RCMP, Northern Health Authority, BC Housing, Association Advocating for Women and Community (AWAC), and Prince George Native Friendship Centre.

Five community members were also selected by Council to serve on the Committee:

  • Lynne Brown
  • Paul Burry
  • David McMullen
  • Shelby Petersen
  • Daniel Roy

The Select Committee on A Safe, Clean, and Inclusive Downtown will convene its first meeting later this month, and will deliver its recommendations to Council by June 30, 2020. The meetings will be open to the public.

What do you think about this story?