Skip to content

Jeanne Clark History Awards to be presented Sunday

The Prince George Public Library Board will host the 34th annual Jeanne Clarke Local History Awards at Bob Harkins Branch on Sunday night.  The Jeanne Clarke Local History Award was established by the Prince George Public Library Board in 1985, in memory of former library board chair Jeanne Clarke.

The award is presented annually to individuals or groups for outstanding contributions in the preservation and promotion of local and regional history in the categories of publication and service.

The nominees for the publication award are Kwädąy Dän Ts’ìnchį: Teachings from Long Ago Person Found (2017) Edited by Richard J. Hebda, Sheila Greer, and Alexander Mackie; Chasing Smoke: A wildfire memoir (2017) by Aaron Williams; What We Learned: Two generations reflect on Tsimshian education and the day schools (2017) by Helen Raptis with members of the Tsimshian Nation; People of the Saltwater: An ethnography of Git Lax M’oon (2016) by Charles R. Menzies; Knox: Prince George (2016) by Trelle Morrow; Summer of the Horse (2018) by Donna Kane; Ness Lake Bible Camp (2018) by John & Gwen Reimer and Greasing the Rails (2018) by John Howarth.

Past winners of the Service Award include the Regional District of Fraser-Fort George for the Golden Raven Discovery Pass and the Select Committee on Prince George’s 100th Anniversary Celebration.

Jeanne Clarke was a founding member of the Prince George Public Library’s Local History Committee, and played a key role in establishing the Prince George Public Library’s local history collection.

 Event Details:

Sunday, February 24th, 2019

Program begins at 7:10pm

Keith Gordon Room, Bob Harkins Branch




What do you think about this story?