Skip to content

Poverty Reduction Strategy meeting here in February

 

Community meetings for British Columbia’s first Poverty Reduction Strategy will kick off in Victoria on Monday, Nov. 27.

A Prince George meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, February 7.

British Columbians are invited to come and talk about how poverty can be reduced in the province. Ideas shared at the in-person community meetings will help inform the Poverty Reduction Strategy. The community meetings will run from the end of November to the end of March.

While some times and locations are still being finalized, the confirmed dates for 2018 are:

Prince Rupert:  Thursday, Jan. 11
Terrace / Kitimat:  Friday, Jan. 12
Smithers:  Saturday, Jan. 13
Kamloops:  Thursday, Jan. 18
Kelowna: Friday, Jan. 19
Nanaimo: Monday, Jan. 22
Port Alberni: Tuesday, Jan. 23
Campbell River: Wednesday, Jan. 24
Williams Lake:  Friday, Feb. 2
Quesnel:  Saturday, Feb. 3
Prince George:  Wednesday, Feb. 7
Cranbrook:  Thursday, Feb. 8
Nelson:  Friday, Feb. 9

Meetings are being planned for Vancouver, North Vancouver/West Vancouver, Richmond, Surrey, Burnaby/New Westminster, Maple Ridge, Langley, Abbotsford, Chilliwack, and Fort St. John/Fort Nelson.

Information can be found online as details become available: https://engage.gov.bc.ca/bcpovertyreduction/

A toolkit is being developed for people who want to host their own meetings and will be available on the website in a short time.

People can provide feedback in these ways:

Send input online: https://engage.gov.bc.ca/bcpovertyreduction/

Send an email: BCPovertyReduction@gov.bc.ca

Call and leave a voice mail message: 1 778 698-7746 (Victoria) or 1 800 663-7867 (elsewhere in B.C.).

What do you think about this story?