Skip to content

McBride by-election set for March 4

McBride voters will go to the polls March 4.

The by-election will replace Coun. Sharon Reichert, Coun. Ralph Bezanson and Coun. Edith Tracey who resigned November 18, leaving only Mayor Loranne Martin and Coun. Rick Thompson on council. Not being able to form a quorum, the village council could not conduct any business.

Victoria sent Isabell Hadford into McBride to help the municipality deal with the sudden resignations and on November 29, Community Minister Peter Fassbender signed a ministerial order to allow the remaining two members of council to constitute a quorum until the vacancies are filled through a by-election.

On November 21, Martin issued a statement on the city’s website announcing the resignations and saying that several council meetings have been cancelled due to a lack of quorum. A day later, November 22, Martin posted another statement claiming that “three councillors refused to attend regular council meetings, despite legislation, and then held their own special meetings at time when the mayor was expected to be unavailable.”

Martin also claimed there are human rights complaints against two of the councillors, and a WorkSafeBC claim of bullying and harassment against two councillors.“When the village indicated the ministry and solicitor would attend a meeting to discuss this conduct, the three councillors resigned,” the notice stated.

Prospective new councillors have until January 27 to file their nomination papers with the village.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *