The City of Prince George just became a little more historical.
During last night’s meeting, council approved a recommendation from the Prince George Heritage Commission to add four sites to the city’s Heritage Register:
- Taylor House (1872 10th Avenue)
- Dogwood and Elm Street Trees (Along Dogwood and Elm Street between 15th and 17th Avenue)
- Vancouver Street Elms (Along Vancouver Street between 4th and 10th Avenue)
- Quinson Elementary School (251 S Ogilvie Street)
The Taylor House was the residence of two former mayors, Fred D. Taylor and Harry G. Perry. The Dogwood and Elm Street trees, and the elms on Vancouver Street, were planted generations ago and have grown to be defining features that enhance the beauty and the history of their respective neighbourhoods. Heritage values are also to be found in Quinson’s unusual classrooms, which are shaped as pentagons. When the school was constructed in the 1960s, the shape was expected to enhance student-teacher interactions.
A Heritage Register is an official listing of properties with heritage value which enables municipalities to protect properties deemed to have historical significance. However, the Register is a lower level of protection compared to other protection tools that are available through the Local Government Act and does not provide the level of protection provided by Official Heritage Designation.
The Heritage Register allows the City to flag properties so that property owners – and all residents – can be aware of the historical value of various sites and to allow the City to monitor alterations to heritage buildings. The Heritage Register also helps to create a sense of pride in our community’s unique heritage.
“The Heritage Commission proposed these additions because they represent important historical, aesthetic, and spiritual heritage values in our community,” said Heritage Commission Chair, Caroline Ross, in a press release. “Heritage value extends beyond buildings, and this year we’re recognizing our City’s natural heritage by adding some significant landscape features to the Heritage Register. The mature trees in the Millar Addition and on Vancouver Street are unique and visually defining features of these neighbourhoods and they help to define Prince George’s urban landscape as a whole.”
The City first created the Heritage Register in 2007 with four sites:
- South Fort George School House (755 20th Avenue)
- Sixth Avenue Liquor Store (1188 6th Avenue)
- Federal Government Building (1293 3rd Avenue)
- Nechako Crossing (west of the confluence of Nechako and Fraser River)
In 2016, Council approved the addition of two additional sites:
- Munro/Moffat House (153 Moffat Street)
- Pitman House (2387 McBride Crescent)